Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council on all applications for rezoning, site plans, requests for specific use permits, zoning ordinance amendments and sector plans. The commission has been charged by the state and by the City Council to solely act upon and approve or deny all plats submitted by the city.

Agendas and Minutes

The Planning and Zoning Commission meetings are held twice a month, generally on the second and fourth Monday at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are usually conducted in-person at Grand Prairie City Hall Council Chambers, 300 W. Main Street. If it is determined that a videoconference should replace the in-person format or if a videoconference will be offered in addition to the in-person format, information on how to participate in the videoconference will be listed within the meeting agendas below.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, we encourage residents who do not wish to speak at public meetings to watch online instead or watch replays. (Note: Technical issues may prevent a complete broadcast.)


The Planning and Zoning Commission is a nine member commission. Commissioners are appointed by the mayor and city council members and must not conduct business as a supplier or vendor to the city.

Planning and Zoning Commissioners

Planning and Zoning Commissioners:

  • Cheryl Smith - Chairperson
  • Max Coleman - Vice Chairperson
  • Julia Perez - Secretary
  • Ana Coca
  • John Fedorko
  • CJ Ramirez
  • Michelle Madden
  • Frank Gonzalez
  • Quentin Pete


Planning & Zoning Commission Contact: For more information on meeting dates or if interested in attending, please email Monica Espinoza.

Register your position

To register your position for an item on an upcoming Planning and Zoning Commission, City Council, or Zoning Board of Adjustments and Appeals agenda, fill out the form below.