Runoff Election Set for June 10, 2023

Published on May 24, 2023

American flag blowing

2023 runoff election results updated.png

Unofficial Results
Jeff Copeland 1,030 40 473 241 14 221 5 0 4 2,028 49.2%
Bessye Adams 767 32 386 443 29 432 4 0 2 2,095 50.8%
TOTALS 1797 72 859 684 43 653 9 0 6 4,123 100.0%

May 6, 2023 Municipal Election Information

Three Council Seats on the Ballot for Election May 6, 2023

2023 unofficial ballot (PDF, 72KB)(PDF, 72KB)

You can view sample ballots for EllisTarrant, and Dallas(PDF, 1MB)(PDF, 1MB) County on their respective websites.

There are three council seats on Grand Prairie’s ballot this year and below are the candidate names which will appear on the ballot:

Council Member, District One, for a three-year term

  1. Jeca Williams
  2. Jorja Clemson

Council Member, District Three, for a three-year term

  1. Mike Del Bosque

Place 7, At Large, for a three-year term

  1. David Espinosa
  2. Jeff Copeland
  3. Bessye Adams
  4. Wendy Nguyen Anaya

Grand Prairie City Council Terms

The City Council is made up of six Council Members who represent six council districts, two Council Members who represent the city "at large," and a Mayor who is also elected at large. The Mayor and Council Members are elected for three-years terms on a nonpartisan basis. 

District Current Elected Official Term Ends
Mayor (At Large) Ron Jensen 05/2025
District 1 Jorja Clemson 05/2023*
District 2 Jacquin Headen 05/2025
District 3 Mike Del Bosque 05/2023*
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, District 4 John Lopez 05/2025
Mayor Pro Tem, District 5 Cole Humphreys 05/2024
District 6 Kurt Johnson
Place 7 (At Large) Jeff Copeland 05/2023*
Place 8 (At Large)
Junior Ezeonu

The election on May 6, 2023, will be for terms ending in May 2023. All offices are for a three-year term.

Filing Period

An application for a place on the ballot(PDF, 2MB)(PDF, 2MB) can be obtained from the Office of the City Secretary and submitted to that office beginning January 18, 2023, through February 17, 2023, by 5:00 p.m. 

Qualifications to Run for City Council

  1. Must be a citizen of the United States.
  2. Must be 18 years of age or older at the commencement of the term to be filled by the election;
  3. Must be a resident of Texas for 12 months and the City of Grand Prairie six months immediately preceding the 45th day before the election;
    • In addition, candidates must be residents of the respective district and must have been a resident of the district for at least six months prior to the date of filing.
  4. Must not be under an adjudication of mental incompetence;
  5. Must not have been convicted of a felony for which he/she has not been pardoned or had civil rights restored by other official action;
  6. Must be a qualified, registered voter in the City of Grand Prairie, and have been a registered voter in Texas for the last twelve months. 

Council Meetings

City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month with the exception of the months of July, October and December, which will have one meeting each.

View minutes of past City Council Meetings

Tagged as: