Councilmember Ezeonu Appointed to NLC Committee and Council

Published on February 13, 2024


Junior Ezeonu, Councilman At-Large, Grand Prairie, Texas, has been reappointed to the National League of Cities (NLC) 2024 Race, Equity and Leadership (REAL) Council and the Energy, Environment and Natural Resources (EENR) Federal Advocacy Committee. Councilman Ezeonu was elected to a one-year term to develop and guide programs among local elected officials from similar communities and to provide strategic direction and guidance on sustainability, climate change, community resilience, water infrastructure and solid waste management. NLC President Mayor David Sander of Rancho Cordova, CA, announced the appointment.

“I’m honored to serve on this committee and council to represent my hometown of Grand Prairie,” said Councilman at Large Ezeonu. “I’m excited to collaborate with local leaders and develop programs and valuable resources to benefit our diverse community. Additionally, advocate for sustainability issues to maintain our residents’ good quality of life.”

As a member of NLC’s REAL Council and the EENR Committee, Councilman Ezeonu will play a key role in shaping NLC’s policy positions and advocate on behalf of America’s cities, towns and villages before Congress, with the administration and at home. He will encourage collaboration, networking and the development of resources and programs beneficial to communities with shared demographics, size or location that can be replicated across the country. 

“NLC’s federal advocacy committees play an important role in helping policymakers in Washington understand the issues and challenges facing America’s cities, towns and villages at the local level,” said NLC President Mayor David Sander of Rancho Cordova, CA. “I’m thrilled and look forward to working with him to strengthen the federal-local partnership and grow our common knowledge of the issues and opportunities facing our communities.”  

The leadership of this year’s Energy, Environment and Natural Resources Federal Advocacy Committee will consist of Chair Ruth Grendahl, Councilmember, Apple Valley, Minnesota; Vice Chair Laura Dent, Vice Mayor, Harrisonburg, Virginia; and Vice Chair Brian Jones, Councilmember, Union City, Georgia.

For more information on NLC’s federal advocacy committees, visit

The leadership of this year’s council will consist of Chair Christopher Jones, Council Member, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Chair Ty Stober, Mayor Pro Tem, Vancouver, Washington; Vice Chair Karlene Maxwell Williams, Commissioner, Lauderdale Lakes, Florida; and Vice Chair DeDreana Freeman, Council Member, Durham, North Carolina. 

For more information on NLC’s member councils, visit   

Tagged as: