The city of Grand Prairie is a Home Rule City and is governed by the laws of the State of Texas and within the framework of the City Charter which was approved by the voters of Grand Prairie on May 1, 1948. Amendments to the Charter have been approved periodically by the voters of the city. The city operates under a Council-Manager form of government which combines strong leadership, representative democracy through elected officials, and a professionally trained and educated city manager.

The City Council is the legislative body; its members are the community's decision makers. Power is centralized in the elected council, which approves the budget and determines the tax rate, for example. The council also focuses on the community's goals, major projects, and such long-term considerations as community growth, land use development, capital improvement plans, capital financing, and strategic planning. The council also supervises the city manager's performance.


Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 317 College Street. City Council meetings are open to the public and citizen input is welcome. Citizens may speak at Council meetings on any agenda item and may also speak regarding items not listed on the agenda during "Citizen Comments" by completing and submitting a speaker card. Comments are limited to 5 minutes. City Council agendas are available on the city's website (view agendas).


The City Council is made up of six Council Members who represent six council districts, two Council Members who represent the city "at large," and a Mayor who is also elected at large. The Mayor and Council Members are elected for three-years terms on a nonpartisan basis.