Grand Prairie Receives Air North Texas Partner of the Year Award

Post Date:11/13/2017 9:30 AM

Air North Texas Partner of the Year 2017

Pictured (left to right):  Mayor Rob Franke of Cedar Hill and Regional Transportation Council Chair, Elizabeth Tolentino, Public Relations Specialist, Cindy Mendez, Environmental Services Manager, and Mayor Ron Jensen of Grand Prairie.

The City of Grand Prairie was named Air North Texas Partner of the Year for the second straight year. Grand Prairie developed a comprehensive campaign that includes website content, social media promotion, newsletter articles about air quality and coordination with promotion of Air North Texas at community events during ozone season.

Grand Prairie also encouraged companies to compete against one another to determine who could commit to the newest clean air initiatives through the Clean Air Action Challenge. Among the initiatives were creating a carpool parking spot, sending daily emails on clean air and encouraging employees to pledge at A total of 647 pledges were made by companies in the city. Lockheed Martin led the way with 373 employee commitments recorded. Pratt & Whitney and Airbus Helicopters were also among the top challenge participants, recording strong employee involvement.

The awards were announced at the Nov. 9 Regional Transportation Council meeting. Air North Texas is one of many strategies in place to improve air quality as 10 North Texas counties strive to meet the Environmental Protection Agency regulation for ozone pollution. Improving air quality is important for residents’ health and quality of life and helps preserve the region’s economic vitality.

Air North Texas includes 35 partners committed to educating the public about air quality and motivating them to help make the air healthier to breathe. Among North Texans’ options are riding transit, maintaining their vehicles, biking or walking more, carpooling, pursuing energy-efficient home improvements and incorporating other clean air choices into daily routines. It is coordinated through the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG).

Return to full list >>