City of Grand Prairie Municipal Election

GRAND PRAIRIE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL		
DISTRICT	CURRENT ELECTED OFFICIAL	TERM ENDS
Mayor (At Large)	Ron Jensen	05/2025
District 1	Jorja Clemson	05/2026
District 2	Jacquin Headen	05/2025
District 3	Mike Del Bosque	05/2026
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, District 4	John Lopez	05/2025
Mayor Pro Tem, District 5	Cole Humphreys	*05/2024
District 6	Kurt Johnson	*05/2024
Place 7 (At Large)	Bessye Adams	05/2026
Place 8 (At Large)	Junior Ezeonu	*05/2024

^{*} An election will be held on May 4, 2024, for terms ending in May 2024. All offices are for a three-year term.

City Council meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesday of each month except for the months of July, October and December, which have one meeting each. Minutes of past City Council meetings can be found here: https://www.gptx.org/Government/Mayor-and-City-Council/City-Council-Meetings

Qualifications to run for City Council

- 1. Must be a citizen of the United States.
- 2. Must be 18 years of age or older at the commencement of the term to be filled by the election.
- 3. Must be a resident of Texas for 12 months and the City of Grand Prairie six months immediately preceding the filing deadline.
 - a. In addition, candidates for Districts 5 and 6 must be residents of the respective district and must have been a resident of the district for at least six months prior to the date of filing.
- 4. Must not be under an adjudication of mental incompetence.
- 5. Must not have been convicted of a felony for which he/she has not been pardoned or had Civil rights restored by other official action.
- 6. Must be a qualified, registered voter in the City of Grand Prairie.

Filing Period

An application for a place on the ballot can be obtained from the Office of the City Secretary and submitted to that office beginning January 17, 2024, through February 16, 2024, by 5:00p.m. All candidates for city council shall, at the time of filing such application, pay a filing fee of fifty dollars (\$50.00). As an alternate procedure to paying the filing fee, the candidate may file a petition. The minimum number of signatures that must appear on the petition is the greater of twenty-five (25); or one-half of one (1) percent of the total vote received in the territory from which the office is elected by all candidates for mayor in the most recent mayoral general election (total votes=6046; 6046*.005=30 signatures required). Each petition must comply in form, content, and procedure as prescribed by the Texas Election Code.

Polling locations will be posted to the city webpage as soon as they are determined. Election information may also be found on the Dallas County, Tarrant County and Ellis County elections websites:

https://www.dallascountyvotes.org/ https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/elections.html https://www.co.ellis.tx.us/312/Elections

For More Information:

City of Grand Prairie | Mona Lisa Galicia, City Secretary | 300 W. Main Street | Grand Prairie, TX 75050 GPCitySecretary@gptx.org | 972-237-8035 PH | 972-237-8088 FAX